1963 Monaco Grand Prix

Some drivers become synonymous with the Monaco Grand Prix. The first such driver to do so was Britain’s Graham Hill who first won the event in 1963.

Hill, driving for BRM, qualified second for the race behind fellow Brit, Jim Clark. Several cars were withdrawn from the event due to either not being ready, damaged or being repossessed by the manufacturer. Therefore, fifteen drivers competed the actual race.

Hill and team mate Richie Ginther managed to out drag Clark off the line allowing Hill to lead a BRM one-two. Five laps in, Clark overtook Ginther to claim second. Clark then managed to get ahead of Hill on lap eighteen and began to build a sizeable lead. But on lap seventy eight, Clark suffered gearbox issues and soon retired, allowing Hill to retake the lead.

Graham Hill won in two hours forty one minutes ahead of Richie Ginther and New Zealander, Bruce McLaren (Cooper). Of the initial fifteen drivers to start, nine were classified finishers, only seven saw the chequered flag.

Hill would go on to win a further four times in Monaco, the last being in 1969. Due to his success Hill was dubbed ‘Mr Monaco’. It would take twenty nine years for another driver to match the feat of winning five times at the Principality.

Next in feature: 1982 Monaco Grand Prix

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s