The 2020 IndyCar Genesys 300

IndyCar is due to begin its delayed 2020 season at the Texas Motor Speedway on 6 June.

The opening round is currently due to be one of fourteen in the 2020 calendar that includes three venues holding back to back races, those being Road America, Iowa Speedway and at Monterey. The 104th running of the Indianapolis 500 is due to take place on the 23 August.

The defending champion going into the season is Josef Newgarden, who won the 2019 race at Texas Motor Speedway. He will be driving for Team Penske once again this season as the series enters a new era of sorts under the stewardship of Team Penske owner, Roger Penske, who bought Indianapolis Motor Speedway and IndyCar in late 2019.

Embed from Getty Images

There have been several team and driver changes ahead of the season, one which I personally will be looking out for is how Arrow McLaren SP will do in the upcoming campaign.

The team is the result of a joint entry between Schmidt Peterson Motorsports and McLaren Racing, the team are due to field Oliver Askew and Patricio O’Ward to contest the full season, replacing James Hinchcliffe and Marcus Ericsson. The team will field a third entry for Fernando Alonso at the Indianapolis 500 as the Spaniard makes his third attempt at claiming victory and therefore completing his quest to win the Triple Crown of Motorsport.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s