Throwback Thursday: 6 August 2020 Edition

Another race weekend approaches with Formula 1, MotoGP and Formula E just some of the series due to be in action. In the meantime for Throwback Thursday here is a look at some of the racing series that have been in action on 6 August in seasons gone-by.


In 1995 World Superbikes was at Brands Hatch where Carl Fogarty claimed pole position before going on to win both the first and second race of the weekend. In the first race he was joined on the podium by Troy Corser and Anthony Gobert while in the second the top three was completed by Colin Edwards and John Reynolds.

In 2000 the series was at Brands Hatch again where Neil Hodgson took superpole. But it was Troy Bayliss who won ahead of Hodgson and Chris Walker in the first race. Hodgson won the second race of the weekend ahead of Bayliss and Pierfrancesco Chilli.

Embed from Getty Images

In 2006 World Superbikes was competing at Brands Hatch where Troy Bayliss claimed superpole, his third of the season. Bayliss went on to win the first race ahead of James Toseland and Noriyuki Haga. The second race was won by Haga ahead of Bayliss and Andrew Pitt.


In 1960 the series was contesting the Ulster Grand Prix with 125cc, 250cc, 350cc and the 500cc classes in action. Carlo Ubbiali won the 125cc and 250cc races with John Surtees taking victory in the 350cc class while John Hartle won the 500cc race.

The series was in action once again in 1967 for the Finnish Grand Prix where the 125cc, 250cc, 500cc and 500cc Sidecars were in action. Britons Stuart Graham and Mike Hailwood took victory in the 125cc and 250cc class respectively. Giacomo Agostini won the 500cc class with Klaus Enders and Ralf Engelhardt winning the 500cc Sidecars race.

Embed from Getty Images

In 1983 the series was contesting the Swedish Grand Prix at Anderstorp which was the penultimate round for the 125cc and 500cc classes but the season finale for the 250cc class. Bruno Kneubuhler won the 125cc race ahead of Fausto Gresini and August Aulinger. The 250cc race was won by Christian Sarron, who finished the season second, with Herve Guilleux finishing the race second while the eventual 1983 250cc champion Carlos Lavado finished third. In the 500cc class Freddie Spencer won the race ahead of countryman Kenny Roberts and Japan’s Takazumi Katayama.

The 1989 British Grand Prix was the twelfth of fifteen rounds which saw the 125cc, 250cc and 500cc classes in action. The 125cc event was won by Hans Spaan, his fourth and final win of the 1989 125cc season. Sito Pons took victory in the 250cc race ahead of Reinhold Roth and Masao Shimizu. The 500cc race was won by Kevin Schwantz ahead of fellow Americans Eddie Lawson and Wayne Rainey.


In 1989 CART was racing at Michigan International Speedway in the tenth round of the season. Pole position was claimed by Emerson Fittipaldi but it was Michael Andretti who went on to take victory, his second and final victory in the 1989 CART season, ahead of Teo Fabi and Mario Andretti. Fittipaldi failed to finish but was classified in fourteenth, the Brazilian would eventually go on to win the 1989 championship with Michael Andretti finishing the season in third, Fabi finishing fourth and Mario Andretti finishing sixth.

Embed from Getty Images

Formula 1

In 1961 the series was contesting the German Grand Prix which was the sixth of eight races. Phil Hill was in pole position but it was Stirling Moss who claimed victory ahead of Wolfgang von Trips with Hill ultimately finishing third.

The series contested the 1967 edition of the German Grand Prix where Jim Clark took pole position but would end up retiring from the race. Victory was taken by Denny Hulme, his second and final victory of the season on his way to claiming the 1967 Drivers’ Championship. Hulme was joined on the podium by teammate Jack Brabham and Chris Amon.

Embed from Getty Images

In 2006 the series was contesting the Hungarian Grand Prix. Pole position was taken by the McLaren of Kimi Raikkonen who would end up retiring from the race. The Grand Prix would eventually be won by Jenson Button, his maiden victory in the sport, ahead of the McLaren of Pedro de la Rosa and the BMW Sauber of Nick Heidfeld.

Super Formula

Formula Nippon (now called Super Formula) was in action at Autopolis in 2006 which was the fifth round of a nine round season. Pole position was claimed by Takashi Kogure but it was Tsugio Matsuda who took victory, his only one of the season, ahead of Toshihiro Kaneishi and Tatsuya Kataoka. Reigning champion Satoshi Motoyama failed to finish while eventual 2006 champion Benoit Treluyer was classified in seventh.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s