2021 ABB Formula E Berlin ePrix Preview

This weekend is set to see Formula E conclude its seventh season, and first as a world championship, with a double header in Berlin.

Mercedes driver Nyck de Vries will begin the weekend as the championship leader after claiming a brace of second place finishes in the previous event in London. The Dutchman has a six point advantage over countryman Robin Frijns who is second in the championship. The Virgin Racing driver has claimed three points finishes across the last four races.

Joint third in the championship are Sam Bird and Jake Dennis. The former endured a difficult London ePrix double header, the Jaguar driver failing to finish in either race. By comparison Dennis claimed his second victory in Formula E in the first race in London before then going on to be classified in the points again in the second race.

Embed from Getty Images

Bird and Dennis have a one point advantage over fourth placed, and reigning champion, Antonio Felix da Costa. The Portuguese driver managed to score points in the first race in London before being involved in a collision with Andre Lotterer which forced da Costa into retirement in the final race of the London ePrix race weekend.

Two points behind da Costa is Alex Lynn who was the other driver to claim victory in the London double header. The Briton claimed the victory in the second race, having finished third in the first. Lynn has a two point advantage of his own over seventh placed Nick Cassidy.

In the teams’ championship Virgin Racing head the table, seven points clear of second placed Mercedes. The latter achieved better results in London with two second places and a seventh while Virgin only scored points in the second race, with a fourth and seventh place classification.


Third in the championship is Jaguar Racing who are two points behind Mercedes, this despite the British team only scoring points thanks to Mitch Evans third place finish in the second race. Jaguar have an eight point advantage over fourth placed DS Techeetah who are the reigning teams’ champions.

Behind DS Techeetah are BMW and Audi who are both set to leave the series, in a full works team capacity, at the end of the season. BMW are five points behind DS Techeetah having won three races this season and have a nine point advantage over Audi who are sixth. The latter have won one race this season and have a 12 point advantage over seventh placed Mahindra Racing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s